History of Association

Quick Menu
History of Association

A brief History of Kerala Govt. Homoeo Medical Officers’ Association

Kerala Govt. Homoeo Medical Officers’ Association – the one and only functioning service association in the department of Homoeopathy is having a long history, way back since 1963. In the year 1958 the first Govt. Homoeo Dispensary was started at S. Puram, Kottayam. Athurasramam N.S.S. Homoeopathic Medical College, Kottayam was the first Homoeopathic Medical College in Kerala and was established in the year 1954. Dr. K.Z. George was appointed as the first Medical Officer in 1958, through employment exchange and he became permanent through PSC on 23-5-1962.

KGHMOA was formed in 1963 with 19 members and got recognition in 1966 vide Serial No. 62/1966. The first President was Dr. K.S. Prakasam and Dr. K.Z. George was the General Secretary. In the beginning, KGHMOA could not do anything due to lack of sufficient members. Six officers appointed through PSC in 1961, another 6 in 1962, 7 in 1963, 5 in 1967, 8 in 1969, 10 in 1970, 22 in 1972, 26 in 1973 and so on. Activities of the association from 1966 to 78 were not significant.

During these years Dr. K.J. Isaac, Dr. K.I. Kochukadher, Dr. V.M. Ibrahim, Dr. K. Peethambara Panicker, Dr. K.J. Mathai and Dr. Ismail Sait became the office bearers.

There were intense fractional fights culminating in the dissolution of the association. In 1978 KGHMOA was revived with Dr. P. Kesavan Nair as President and Dr. P.A. Philipose as General Secretary. From 1982 onwards large number of officers started entering service due to the opening of a number of dispensaries every year.

In 1986 two land mark decisions were taken by amending the by-law – to constitute District units and start publication of an organ. An Editorial Board was constituted with Dr. Thomas A. Kuruvilla as the Chief Editor. The first issue of the mouth organ ‘Homoeopathy Service’ was published on 10th April 1987.

In the year 1988 Dr. P. Kesavan Nair was elected again as president and Dr. Thomas A. Kuruvilla as General Secretary. Then Dr. K.V. Patel became the President of the association and Dr. Thomas A. Kuruvilla continued as General Secretary. In the year 1993 Dr. Thomas A. Kuruvilla became the president and under his dynamic leadership KGHMOA became a leading category organisation. Dr. Kuruvilla served 4 terms (8 years) as President and Dr. N. Sabu, Dr. V.A. Naziruddeen and Dr. G. Sivaramakrishnan have worked with him as General Secretaries. After Dr. Thomas A. Kuruvilla, Dr. G. Prasanna Chandran was elected as the President in the year 2003 and Dr. G. Sivaramakrishnan was re-elected as General Secretary. Dr. G. Prasanna Chandran could not complete his term and for the last few months of the term Dr. N.A. Nazarulla became the President (in-charge). Also Dr. D. Ajayan held the charge of the General Secretary as Dr. V.A. Nasiruddeen resigned from his post in the year 2000.

The 22nd State Conference held at Calicut elected Dr. V.N. Raju as the President and Dr. G. Sivaramakrishnan was again elected as the third term as the General Secretary and there after Dr K M Uvaise and Dr R Sunil Raj were elected as President and General Secretary respectively at the 23rd State Conference held at Alappuzha. The 24th State Conference held at Thiruvananthapuram elected Dr N A Nazarulla as the President and Dr R Sunil Raj as the General Secretary for the second consecutive term.

Association became highly boosted up by the entry of the officers having membership with KHMGA who have joined with KGHMOA in the year 2001 as they gave up the idea of forming GGMOA (Govt. Graduate Medical Officers’ Association).

Association brought great laurels to the officers’ community and to the department. Rationalisation of OP time and Entry grade Gazetted post were prominent among them. DMO office at Wynad, RMO posts at 13 hospitals, appointment of DMOs after a long gap in the year 2006 were achieved due to our great efforts and by means of repeated memorandums and follow ups.

Association is highly concerned with the benefits to the individual member for his / her fundamental rights and grievances and exists for achieving common goals.

You are visitor number:

Copyright © 2022 KGHMOA - Powered by Track Courier